Our Team

Our Board Members

CDF Canada is governed by an independent board of directors who have strong links to Canada’s co-operative business sector in addition to international development expertise.

  • Michele Aasgard

    Executive Director

    Alberta Community and Co-operative Association

  • Neil Cooper

    CFO of Conexus

  • Bruno Dragani

    Chief People & Administration Officer

    Coastal Community Credit Union

  • Mark Hamel


    Harmony Holsteins

  • Erin Hancock

    Manager, Partnership & Promotion

    Co-operative Management Education Team, Saint Mary’s University

  • Tracey Kliesch

    General Manager & CEO

    CCEC Credit Union

  • Norman Lafrenière

    Vice President, Board of Directors

    Co-operatives and Mutuals Canada

  • Kelly McGiffin

    President & CEO

    First Ontario Credit Union

  • Mark Needham

    Vice President, Board of Directors

    Co-operatives and Mutuals Canada

  • Marc-André Pigeon

    Assistant Vice President

    Canadian Credit Union Association

  • Jeanette Wakelin

    Director of Product Solutions

    Atlantic Central

  • Read the full profiles of our Board Members here.



Who we are

We’re a team of collaborators, facilitators and co-operators living out our Vision and Mission each day to build a global co-operative community.

The CDF Team


A world where self-reliant communities flourish.


To facilitate the current and future needs of international communities using co-operative principles.


Please reach out to any of our team members for more information on how you can help us close the gap on inequality, promote financial inclusion and strengthen resilience and sustainability around the world.



Business Development

David Dern – Manager, Fundraising

Ingrid Fischer – Director, Business Development

Lindsay Naish – Business Development Assistant

Gonzalo Rodriguez – Fundraising Officer

Jean Roxas – Manager, Business Development

David Shanks – Manager, Communications and Marketing

Human Resources

Donna Miller – Director, Human Resources

Laurie Tennian – Volunteer Manager

Keely Whitford – Human Resources Assistant


Diane Lanthier – Executive Assistant

Sharon Alexanian – Corporate Finance Manager

Nassir Ali Adem – Project Finance Manager

Kathy Chen – Finance Officer

Brian Coburn – Director, Operations

Ana Gonzalez – Finance Officer

Nathan Medema – IT and Office Manager

Tasha Pierre – Accounting Assistant


Gabriela Carbo – Project Assistant

Fresnel Devalon – Country Manager, Rwanda and Program Manager, Ghana

Eli Froese-Germain – Project Assistant

Shannon Johnson – Manager, Programs

Adiba Karim – Monitoring and Evaluation Specialist

Andrea Kohut – Program Manager, Peru

Andri Mulia – Program Manager, Indonesia

Chima Okonkwo – Project Assistant

Gioconda Ortega-Alarie – Manager, Programs

Rebecca Sivel – Program Officer, Ghana

Jessica Sunter – Program Officer, Colombia

Philippa Wiens – Manager, Programs

Fre Wolde-Michael – Country Manager, Ghana

Staff Outside of Ottawa

Merinah Kukunda – Office Manager, Africa Region

Lydia Makuch Phillips – Country Director, Colombia

Innocent Muhureza – Regional Field Manager, Africa

Solomon Mwongyere – Country Manager, Sierra Leone

Stay updated on our news, projects and opportunities.

Subscribe Now